So im having this little competition with a friend to see who can make the best self comps, now its just a fun thing, nothing serious. I need to know how i can record decent sounding riffs straight from the guitar into the comp and then add drums and bass.
I dont have a mic and im not going to buy one for this.
I have Acid Pro 6 for software, its sounding crap in that.
Any suggestions ?
Quote by tobysaurus
I got an erection once, it was lovely.

p.s. i've just started using fruity loops studio 7, it works pretty good i think, but i guess im no expert
You want to just record riffs straight into it?

The easist way would be to go straight from your amp to your pc (assuming you have an amp with audio out or a headphone jack) for this you just need an audio cable that has a 3.5mm audio jack on one end (same as headphone jack) and a TRS (audio jack, same as the end of your guitar lead) connector on the other. Alternativly just buy an audio cable with two 3.55mm audio jacks on both ends and buy a TRS adapter that slots on top of the 3.55mm jack, plug this into your microphone slot and use your software to record it.

You can also do this from an FX pedel replaceing the cable that goes from the FX pedel to your amp with the above mentioned cable (3.55mm jack to TRS) and plug it into your pc.

Thats the most simple and cheapest way of doing it although it may not be of the highest quality it will be an ok quality.

Alternativly you can buy a USB or Firewire device designed to input audio at high quality. http://www.musiconmypc.co.uk/maudio-fast-track-usb-p-244.html
is an example of once such usb device.

Happy recording

But if your not to worried about having high quality then just getting hold of a 3.55mm to TRS cable will do the trick
I have the 3.55mm jack converter, so i can put the lead from my pedal straight into my comp ?..
yea if i get the hang of any of these softwares i can always 'buy' them
Quote by tobysaurus