Hi there, I bought an ESP horizon FR-II a short while ago. The pickups are,

NECK PICKUP : Seymour Duncan SH-1n
BRIDGE PICKUP : Seymour Duncan TB-4

The bridge pickup is good. The neck pickup sounds good too but it doesnt suite my taste. It doesn't have a high out-put, and i find it too bright. the guitar is Alder so its already naturally bright.

I'm completely new to the world of pickups, as i've just used stock pickups on my other guitars. I'm after a neck pickup that will darken the guitars sound, and give me nice warm and deep lead sounds as well as cleans. Needs to be high output, suitable for shredding as i always use the neck pickup for shred.

If pickups dont have the ability to darken the sound by much I can always sell the guitar and buy mahogony. I do regret buying an alder guitar, but i bought it because it was a really good deal. I can sell it easily if I need to.

Any advice would be great! I just need some suggestions to get me started.
Cheers.
what amp do you have?

if you have a good amp then the Dimarzio Breed is what you are looking for
My Gear
Guitars:
-Gibson Les Paul Tribute (Bare Knuckle Nailbombs)
-Ibanez "lawsuit" Les Paul (Seymour Duncan Pegasus and Sentinent)
-Ibanez S470 (Dimarzio D-sonic and Humbucker from Hell)
-PRS SE Custom (Guitarforce Black Diamond and Lord of the Blues)

Amp:
Marshall TSL100
EVH 5150III EL-34 50w
Marshall 1960a cab

Effects:
Dunlop 535q wah
Boss Super Chorus
Bogner Uberschall
Ibanez DE7 Delay
Electro-Harmonix Power Booster
Fender PT100 Pedal Tuner

Strings:
Ernie Ball Skinny Top/Heavy Bottom 10-52
Quote by JLT73
what amp do you have?

if you have a good amp then the Dimarzio Breed is what you are looking for

Yup, I second that!
Actually called Mark!

Quote by TNfootballfan62
People with a duck for their avatar always give good advice.

...it's a seagull

Quote by Dave_Mc
i wanna see a clip of a recto buying some groceries.

stuffmycatswatchontv.tumblr.com