I've been playing guitar for about 13 years now. I suck. I had a 2 1/2 year period where I was dating a woman who wouldn't let me play because she hated the music that I play.

Do you guys think at this point lessons can help me? I'm sure it wouldn't hurt. I'm just hoping that my reason for failure is the fact that I haven't practiced enough and not that I just can't play guitar.
it's a tough place to be, I was more or less in the same position for bass, after years of thoughtless playing, then a few years of not playing at all, I felt really crappy.

If you really think you suck, then go get some lessons. Ask around and find out who gives the most advanced lessons in your area and go to that person. You might have to relearn some basics in a new way, but you're still better off not working with an instructor who normally gives 3 months of lessons to 10 year olds that just picked up guitar.

I went and got some bass lessons from the local bass guru, and while I didn't continue to take them for a real long time, he certainly got me back on the right track.
Of course.
My gear:
-Ibanez JS 6000 Custom w/ 11-48 gauge
-Ibanez FGM 400BB w/ 10-46 gauge
-Peavey 6505 2x12 Combo
-MXR Phase 90
-Boss DD-6 Digital Delay
-Morley Wah/Volume Pro Series II
-Boss CS-3 Compression Sustainer
-Gator G-Bus 8
-Xotic BB Preamp
Well now I pick up the guitar and I'm having a bit of trouble playing simple songs like 'master of puppets'.

I'm in need of some serious refresher courses.
It would probably be like starting over which might frustrate you even more and discourage you. Although if you can get passed that it may help. I have never taken a lesson. Self taught for 1 year so far and i still kinda suck but i have periods where my skill greatly increases and then times where it feels like i'm getting no where.

But sure, you can try em out. Our just youtube a bunch of videos.
the thing is dcvlehr, I've never taken a lesson before either.