Im looking for a good setup to record onto my computer for around 200-300. Im completely new to recording but im looking for a setup to get me started. Ive looked at the line 6 ux2 but ive read both good and bad reviews on it so im not sure what i should go with. Any ideas?
I found the M-audio Firewire Solo works great! It has a 1/4" and an XLR input.
I use the Solo when recording my band or just myself.

I find Sony Acid works great for basic recording; It can be purchase at Best Buy for about $60.
Gear:
1990s Dean Cadillac Select (shrimp fork) w/Seymour D. JB
2003 Ibanez SZ520QM
Line 6 Spider III Half-Stack
So you're going completely with software? There's no chance on recording an amp or a multi-effects pedal?
Quote by keiron_d
thank you sooooooo much for the advice Fast_Fingers...i would hug you if i could...i looooove you!

True love exists in UG. Can you feel it?

Recording Guitar Amps 101
in the future possible, I have them back home. Im in iraq right now but im looking for something for when i get back to where im stationed. I wont have anything there but my guitar. Back home i have a peavy amp, and a digitech
Ah. Anyway, if you're just using a guitar (and not singing), then a GX is all you'll need. Get the UX1 if you plan on miking an instrument or plan on singing while playing. The UX2 isn't necessary unless you plan on doing both, and by then there are much better alternatives. If you want more versatility, you can get some good plugins and work through them in a free software like KRISTAL.
Quote by keiron_d
thank you sooooooo much for the advice Fast_Fingers...i would hug you if i could...i looooove you!

True love exists in UG. Can you feel it?

Recording Guitar Amps 101