Hey guys I've been playing guitar for two years now. I've practised a lot lately and now I'm pretty good. I've always been loving funk but I don't like the use of the guitar in it.

So, Christmas is coming up and I've been thinking about getting a bass. But I'm a bit curious about these things:

-What will be the main difficulties from moving to guitar to bass?
-What are the best basses for slapping and funk under 300$?
-Should I get lessons with it? It's pretty similar to guitar and I'm not sure if it worths it.

Thanks
It really isn't that similar to guitar. Approaches to techniques are different, hell, even the way you hold the bass is different. Don't make the mistake of thinking that the bass is just an oversized, understirnged guitar.

Difficulties: fret size, neck size, fretting strength required, hand stretching required, finger picking- expect blisters when you're starting out.
I know it's pretty different. But do you think the information I can get from the net or books is enough? Or do I really need a private teacher?

Thanks for the infos . I'll have a lot of things to work out I think.
The switch takes getting used to, but it's worth it in the end. I did it, and I loved it. Hell, playing bass made me appreciate the dymanics of my band more, and taught me more about guitar, just like what I learned from guitar could be applied to bass.

The great thing about bass is that you can always tell the wankers and posers. 90% of bass is mentality, and practice. Who cares how fast and wonderful your technique is if you can't play with anyone else.
OBEY THE MIGHTY SHITKICKER
I understand your point. I don't see the bass as a solo instrument. But I've heard songs, like crossroads, where the bass is kinda doing a solo but is still backing the guitar. I feel like more songs should be like that.