Hey Everyone
I want to get my guitar set up, but have never had it done before. Do i just go into the store and say i want my guitar set up or do i have to ask for anything specific (lower action, etc)? Also, about how much does it cost? I live in NJ and have a squier strat if that makes any difference

Thank You
what do you need done, because there's not much you cant do yourself.
Jenneh

Quote by TNfootballfan62
Jenny needs to sow her wild oats with random Gibsons and Taylors she picks up in bars before she settles down with a PRS.

Set up Questions? ...Q & A Thread

Recognised by the Official EG/GG&A/GB&C WTLT Lists 2011
Im kind of new to playing and havent played a lot of different guitars but it seems like the strings are extremely high off of the fretboard, especially at the lower frets. I was also told that my truss rod needs to be adjusted because i replaced the stock strings (9's) with 11's. Im down to try and make these changes myself, but i have almost no knowledge of messing with the set up.
Don't do it yourself. Go to a local shop and explain what you did. They'll know. Just needs some common adjusting(aka, it's normal, don't panic) and leave your guitar in the shop for said setup.
Quote by Eddie4President
Either you remind her of a girl, or she's not a lesbian.

Quote by blake1221
Jabba's real name is Katie.
If you take it to a shop, watch what the tech does, and don't be afraid to ask questions. After you've played for a while, you should be able to do it yourself. There's nothing that's really tough to do.
well, ok except it's a starter guitar and a setup aint free.

you can start by making sure the ass end of the bridge is flat against the body.

if it's not. you flip the guitar over, and take off the back cover.

inside you'll see this.

so tighten the two screws in there. if needed, you can even add a spring.

do that if needed, and then repost, and ill talk to you about the next thing.
Jenneh

Quote by TNfootballfan62