Hi all. I think i'm having a bit of a problem. I'm a beginner guitarist (i've been playing a few months) and don't know if this is actually a problem or not.

But anyway, when unplugged, if i pick my B string, it sounds kind of weird...it still rings out the open string, but also makes the guitar vibrate and kind of makes a "woody" sound. It's kind of hard to explain.

I was thinking it may need a new set of strings or that they may be a bit loose or something?

Hope someone can understand what the hell i'm talking about :P

Cheers
i dont think your string was put on properly...it's a harmonic that is ringing out with the open note...

i had it happen to me on the g string when i'd pluck the fourth fret.
yo.

I BELIEVE
It just sounds like its not been put opn properly, but if its not a problem when your playing through an amp id leave it a while and then get some new strings whenyou really need em.
Quote by boreamor
Ah very good point. Charlie__flynn, you've out smarted me

People
should
smile
more

crit4crit on 'acoustic 1 (with piano)' here

Rate my playing skills please.
is it when its plucked open or fretted? loose fret maybe?

loose/broken nut?

or is it threaded thru the bridge properly?
My gear:
Epiphone Les Paul Standard HCB
Vox DA5 Amp

My wishlist:
Paul Reed Smith Custom 24 in Santana Yellow or Blue Matteo

Vox 30w Valvetronix
Quote by Romp
is it when its plucked open or fretted? loose fret maybe?

loose/broken nut?

or is it threaded thru the bridge properly?

Played open. Thanks for help so far guys. Any more is appreciated. Nah the nut is ok and it seems to be on the bridge properly...i can try get a pic of the bridge if needed?

I only got the guitar from the shop the other day like
then return it
say you want it fixed or your money back
'And after a while, you can work on points for style.
Like the club tie, and the firm handshake,
A certain look in the eye and an easy smile.'

'You have to be trusted by the people that you lie to,