Page 1 of 2
im a guitarist and a noob so i know little on the subject

i am currently in the process of getting a job, and as soon as i get employed im gonna expand out to bass, as i do alot of home recording etc and i just like bass.

what would be a nice amp for recording? gigging is irrelavant now, but i want an amp that really overdrives nicely, like an epi valve junior but for bass, im planning on getting somthing like a t-bird with humbuckers that has a real rumble to it, i mostly play indie such as kings of leon, death cab for cutie, ash, the kills, the raconteurs etc, ive tried out numerous basses and i loved the t-bird to bits, my bass playing friend (who knows alot more about bass than i do) said i sounded better with the thunderbird, i know theres alot of tbird haters but can we leave that aside

anyway is there an amp like the valve junior but for bass, that preferably valved and can be used for recording a nice overdriven tone, im not to bothered about cleans, or volume/headroom, just somthing that will achieve this one sound i want for recording, after all i am a guitarist and a singer first, i just need a bass amp.

thanks for your help, budget as low as possible please

ta
Spend the money on a good computer/instrument interface and decent software instead.

Gear:
Fender Standard Jazz Bass
Artec Matrix Pedal Tuner
BBE Optostomp
Boss GEB 7
EHX NYC Big Muff
Ashdown MAG C410T-300
Torque T100BX
GAS-ing for:
Boss SYB5
Behringer Intelligate IG9
Quote by Jonnomainman
Spend the money on a good computer/instrument interface and decent software instead.

+1. A Line6 Toneport or something should do, and that'll do your guitar as well. BTW, the Raconteurs aren't indie by any stretch of imagination. They are rock, hard rock, blues rock, all that stuff. But not f*cking indie.

Ibanez SR506BM
Ashdown Little Giant 1000w
Peavey TVX 115+410
A big ass upright

^that. if you must look into amps, look at Acoustic amps. they are well priced and quite clear sounding.