Hey guys. I've been playing acoustic guitar for a few years now. I'd really like to have an electric guitar around and I've started looking around. To be entirely honest I'm pretty lost. Can someone try to point me in the right direction?

Incase you are wondering... What I plan on playing is probably best described by linking to a few of my favorite bands...
, , , ...
umm get an epiphone les paul standard
i say its bad having a cheap guitar like a strat knock off as a firt, because u train ur ear the wrong way and u get used to ****. get me?
and since u say uve been playing acoustic for a while then trust me its the best option
just my opinion cheers!
You probably want a strong tone. You should look into tone woods to see what you want your guitar to be made of. Then when you go and look, you have an idea of where to start. These guitars usually have 22 frets. From there, just play around and see what you like best, keep an open mind. Check for rust, cracks, and faults, just like acoustics, and make sure everything is down tight. Try and get a fairly low action. And that's about it.
Yeah a half-cheap guitar with a set neck is definitely less alien when you were used to aocustic necks in the first place, but a strat is a strat, no comment there (unless it's a piece of **** :P)
I love music, if music would be a girl then I'd date her, until then let's get back on Earth
HMMMM... Lets see, when i look at electrics, i look at three different things
1. PLAYABLILITY- this ones a doosie and is very important when selecting guitar
2. SOUND- woods and pickups ect
3. PRICE/STYLE- you dont want to over spend and you probably went to electric because it was cool, so make sure you like the look somewhat (just dont let it overshadow the other two)