Hey all, I'm looking to get a bass guitar, a good one. Electric, with 4 strings. I play guitar already, so that helps, and I don't want one for COMPLETE beginners. I like the thin-neck ones. I want the best possible deal, in the $200-$300 price range. I've been looking at the Fender Jazz basses, and I like the double pick-ups, and I want a decent variety of sounds. I am also interested in playing slap-bass, as well as the typical finger and pick playing. So, could you guys help me out? Thanks.

Edit: Here is the one I'm looking at:

http://bass-guitars.musiciansfriend.com/product/Squier-Affinity-Series-J-Bass?sku=519631
Last edited by Fender1424 at Nov 22, 2008,
probably isn't any help.
But take a look at some Epiphones. You might find something you like.
I'm The New Cancer. Never Looked Better. You Can't Stand It. :stickpoke
Quote by TheNewCancer92
probably isn't any help
Don't take a look at some Epiphones. You might find something you like.

You spelled don't wrong. :P

But anyways. Ideally I would look for a used MIM Fender. Otherwise the Vintage Modifed or Classic Vibe Squiers would be a good choice.
Quote by Captain Insano
You spelled don't wrong. :P

But anyways. Ideally I would look for a used MIM Fender. Otherwise the Vintage Modifed or Classic Vibe Squiers would be a good choice.

I think you're wrong. I think Epiphones are good. I own three. They've never failed me.
Quote by TheNewCancer92
probably isn't any help.

LOL. Your so evil.

But if it wasn't a joke, don't listen to him.
Quote by TheNewCancer92
I think you're wrong. I think Epiphones are good. I own three. They've never failed me.

You own an Epiphone EB-3 and apparently enjoy it. Your opinions are invalid.

To TS, I would suggest the Squier VM Jazz series, an MIM Fender Jazz, or maybe something from the Ibanez Soundgear line. Epiphone (as it exists today) makes truly horrible basses.