So, I'm kind of in the market for a new guitar, and I thought I'd ask all of you guys what your opinions are on 'em.

I've been playing for about two years, been using a Jackson DXMG with passive EMG's and, overall, have been pretty happy with it. But, the bridge is a bitch to set up and restring (plus tuning changes) and some of the knobs are staring to break on me, so I figured I'd begin looking around at what's available.

I got into Opeth a while ago and loved the tone that Mike can get out of his PRS's; this would be the ideal guitar, but of course, seeing as how my cash is going to college, I can't go dropping half my bank account on one...I thought about trying their SE Custom, but I wasn't sure if it was really that great, especially since the Jackson has really been better than I expected. So I was wondering if anyone has a PRS SE custom that they could possibly give a quick rundown of as far as how it's holding up and such.

On the other hand, I love the look of the Flat Grey (with gold binding) ESP Eclipse (I'd have to go for the LTD...) and was wondering if anyone has had a lot of success with their "SE" line so-to-speak.

I've been hearing mixed reviews regarding all of Epi's stuff, but more positive than negative. Of course, if you're going to record a pro record, you want the studio quality Gibson, but for all practical uses, is there really that much difference between Epi and Gibson?

As far as what I'd be doing with it; I listen to Metal, and a lot of it, but I love playing clean stuff as well, the passive EMG's really aren't half bad through my FX unit on cleans, so I'm not exactly sure if I want to bump up to the active 85/81 set because of how it might affect the cleans, because I've heard that they're a lot more "trebly" and harsh on the cleans than some....(As far as artists go, think: Agalloch, Daylight Dies, Opeth, Insomnium, Swallow the Sun, Dream Theater....)