I have absolutely no problem with friends coming by to strum on my guitar, but today a friend did that - put a dent in the top (albeit a very small dent, but still), and then asked if he could borrow it sometime.

Was it bitchy of me to tell him I won't let the guitar out of my sight? I know guitars are meant to be enjoyed and that some small dents aren't a big deal - but my guitar is only three months old, and I'd like to try to keep it nice for at least a little while.

Also, he's a complete beginner and doesn't know much about guitars, and after seeing the way he treated the guitar right in front of me, I have some concerns about how he'd treat it if I wasn't looking. I don't know if he realizes how fragile an acoustic guitar is.

The more I think about it, the more concerned I am about even having him come over to play around on it - I feel like I wouldn't get anything else done because I'd be watching him like a hawk the whole time... and that would be awkward for us both.

So? What are your policies on lending out instruments? Would you ever lend your guitar to a total noob?
I bring my guitar to band practice and my two best friends play on it. That's about it. I would only let someone I really trust take it out of my sight. And I let alot of people play it in front of me. But I am not afraid to tell them to give it back if they are making me uneasy. =P
If somebody wants to play my guitar, as long as they actually play, regardless of their skill, I'll let them.

No way in hell I would ever let somebody borrow my guitar. I would give away an old guitar to a friend who wanted to start, or sell them one, but borrow? Hell no.
would you let your friend take care of your baby for a day?
Quote by archerygenious
Jesus Christ since when is the Pit a ****ing courtroom...

Like melodic, black, death, symphonic, and/or avant-garde metal? Want to collaborate? Message me!
if its a really good guitar, or has a lot of sentimental value, then its no problem...