I've been raised on tubes. My guitar teacher has an old JCM-800 and some old fender silverfaces and stuff. My god father has a custom marshall plexi with real greenbacks, and I've always been around tube amps sounding better than solid state. Hell, I run my speaker system through a tube preamp.

I don't really like my Valveking. It was good for my first amp, but I want something toned back and smaller and quieter. For a long time I was going to get a Blackheart Handsome Devil, and I think I still am. But recently I discovered the Flextone III and I really like the way it sounds. It still doens't sound like a tube amp to me. But damn is it close. I was going to do a bitmo mod on my Blackheart.

I've been playing for about 3 years. I have my PRS and strat. I play blues, rock, some classical metal like sabbath, and other music in that realm. I gig occasionally in auditoriums with PA systems so volume doesn't matter that much.

Which amp would I outgrow faster? I'm still leaning towards the Blackheart cause it's tube. But if I'm not going to get aggravated with a Flextone sounding digital and crap, it might be something to look into.

What's UG's opinion? I'm really at a loss.
Winner of the 2011 Virginia Guitar Festival

Protools HD
Lynx Aurora 16/HD192
Mojave, Sennheiser, AKG, EV etc mics
Focusrite ISA828 pres
Waves Mercury
Random Rack Gear

65 Deluxe Reverb
PRS CE 22
American Standard Strat
Taylor 712
Quote by schecter ftw
3 years and you got a PRS Custom 22?? Damn nice.
It depends really how much do you got to spend?

I got lucky with the PRS. My teachers friend sold it to me cheap because he never played it, it just sat in a case and he wanted it in the hands of a young musician. It's a classic 22 too. Not a custom.

I can afford either one really. My local shop will give me a deal on the Flextone III so I can get it for about 600, and the blackheart will cost me 550 after the bitmo. 50$ isn't too much of a problem for me.