Page 1 of 2
hello everyone i just started playing the guitar and was wondeing if there are any DVD lessons out there that could help me improve. i hear metal method is the best but i thought i'd ask to see if there is a better on out there.
It really depends on how far you want to take it with the guitar, and how committed to the guitar you are. Personally, I learned from one of those teahing books. Try Mel Bays Guitar Method Book Grade 1. Then go on to the next level, I dont find any use with DVD's because they are too confusing for me. Once you get better at that, search around for your favorite guitar songs on tabs.
Please, if you have any questions feel free to contact me at: mtplayer99@aol.com and i promise i will get back to you
i really love music and i wanna start a band someday so iam really committed to learn to play. lol i just got ricked rolled.

anyway i shoud mention iam really into metal and grunge music. if there are any books that focus around those types of music i would be really interested in those
Last edited by Enigmanrx at Nov 23, 2008,
When you learn, you don't focus on a genre immediately.
I recommend learning via books and playing grunge and stuff as you progress farther while still learning from books.
I like rap, feel free to use that as an argument against me.
1. First I would recommend learning as many chords as you possibly can, but first start off with the basic chords like G, F, C, etc. Know them off by heart and be able to switch chords smoothly and quickly. There should be no break in your strumming or rhythm when you switch chords.

2. Now that you know chords find chord tabs of your favourite songs and play those. You'll enjoy playing your favourite songs.

3. You can advance to learning those songs solos. Learn them off by heart and be able to play them smoothly.

4. If you're still into guitar by now and haven't given up. Invest in a book that has scales and exercises for strengthening your fingers and quicking your speed.