if you are playing over a set of chords (say, C, D, G, Em) would you go C major, D major, G major, and E minor, or would you stick with C major? I'm just beginning theory so I don't really want to know about the other scales, and tell me if I'm wrong.
Quote by Peaceful Rocker
That chord progression is in the key of C major, the C major scale would sound great.

You're wrong! D major is not in the key of C major... You should play in G major... or the equivalent E minor... C major is the IV, D major the V, G major the I, and E minor the VI (relative minor).
It would sound much better if you used G major. The C and D act as the IV and V of the progression (respectively), where G is the root chord (I) and Em is its relative minor (vi).

If you want a diatonic solo, do it over G major.
^ +1 to Morbid Believer

but peaceful rocker gets a mulligan, it happens to the best of us.....

to the TS:

it all depends on what sound you want, personally i might switch between E minor and then playing the relative scales over their chords, the difference when switching scales like that will only be a note or 2 difference.
Quote by tyler_coleman
It would sound much better if you used G major. The C and D act as the IV and V of the progression (respectively), where G is the root chord (I) and Em is its relative minor (vi).

If you want a diatonic solo, do it over G major.

actually that would be a pretty common progression in E minor (at least for rock)

VI-VII-III-i

and in looking at the voicing would be conducive to E minor since it rests on Em, oftentimes a song begins and/or ends on its tonic. rarely is the tonic in mid progression and not resolved to.
Quote by MorbidBeliever
You're wrong! D major is not in the key of C major... You should play in G major... or the equivalent E minor... C major is the IV, D major the V, G major the I, and E minor the VI (relative minor).