Ok so I'm a guitarist who has been playing for 4 years and have specialized in blues and blues rock. I go to U.C Irvine and have decided to apply to their music school. the audition is 15 minutes, and I am supposed to play two contrasting pieces of my choice. So my question is this: which two songs would you guys suggest? Im looking for songs that are technically complicated enough to impress a buch of music bigwigs, but personable enough for me to tranform them into my own version. It needs to be a song that can be made into an interesting cover version, because I am banking on the technical prowess of the song as well as my own ingenuity to get it. I have a whole year to prepare for this thing, so I want something that would stretch my limits but not be rediculously difficult. BTW it doesn't have to be a blues or rock song, I have dabbled in tons of other playing styles, from jazz to classical to reggae to metal (my main vein is blues and rock). So yea any ideas would be helpful, as well as tips for how to prepare from other musicians who have been in this position.

Tyusifza.
do something from iron and wine!!!! some there stuff is difficult!!!! or bob dylan!!! good luck!!!!
Bad Horsie-steve vai
It's not THAT bad I suppose.
Brigardier of the Seven String E.R.G. Legion
Fiddles
Ibby RG7321 lundgren M7 bridge, blaze7 neck
Ibby AX7521
Ibby RT452
Ibby RGIR20FE
Peedahls
I'll get back to you.
Heeds
Crate GT3500h
Sunn Concert PA
Crabs
Peavey 2x12
what kind of school is it, generally places like that have programs that are classical or jazz oriented so you are gonna wanna play something in the vein of what you are studying
i have explored the sea