hello, i am fairly new to guitar and all the theory about it etc.
i've read about scales and theory and stuff.
but is it really needed to learn a bunch of scales and all the notes on the fretboard to play well?
i'm not really into creating my own solo's and writing music for now, i just like to play along with songs i like rather than making my own music.
i'm not interested into forming a band or something like that for at least the upcoming 5 years so i just play guitar for myself and not with anyone else.
so when i see ppl asking in all those threads: what to learn now and what shall i start doing now. there are always ppl telling them to learn scales and chords etc around the fretboard.
so is it really needed to start learning scales and a lot of theory to become a good guitar player that can play along with songs like Racer X - Technical Difficulties? just to name one.
if someone or a few ppl could plz clear this up for me, since if its that important i rather start with it as soon as possible so i wont say after 2 years... damn i wish i learned this and that back than..
also, what are stuff like scales for? learning a good sounding pattern to make solo's with or to increase your speed/accuracy/stamina and technique?

Greetings, Rob
learning music theory will allow you to understand the natural flow and progression of music and the overall mathematical equation that it is. guitar playing is no different than playing something classical on a piano - just a different instrument. now, if you want to randomly throw stuff out there - then that's your dig. but if you talk to/listen to real musicians, there's an art in what they do. scales/tune/timing etc...all these things go into playing a song. you don't randomly play a rhythin under a solo and vice-versa...they are intertwined, in the same key etc..knowing music theory and scales etc.. can help you with that.