Im about to get a guitar in the next couple of days off ebay providing it all goes through fine, now ive picked up a beginners book and a dvd to hopefully teach me some basics (im a complete beginner)... just out of curiosity is it worthwhile taking guitar lessons at all? as ive heard ppl say that everything you need is available on the net nowdays.

If i was to get lessons should i try getting some basics down first and then look into it or start pretty much when i get my guitar .. just looking for some opinions on this.
You can find a how to on just about anything on youtube. If you want the face to face instruction go for the lessons, otherwise i would say you dont really need them. Its really personal preference man
a guy on youtube, his name is justin sandercoe, im not sure if im spelling his name right but search google and look up his website. Incredible man that will teach you everything you need to know about guitar. The rest you will pick up naturally.

But if you can afford lessons, go for it! Theres no faster way to learn, just make sure the teacher is reputable and is going to teach you stuff you actually wanna learn!

Good luck!
Yes nearly everything you need to know about guitar is on the internet

but

no one on the internet can evaluate your playing in real time, and give you feedback on your progress, keep you focused for an hour or so at a time, work out exactly what you need to do to progress in guitar and give you enthusiasm to keep practicing, or kick your ass when you arent practicing.

Quote by dogismycopilot
Absent Mind, words cant express how much i love you. Id bone you, oh yea.

Quote by lumberjack
Absent Mind is, as usual, completely correct.

Quote by littlemurph7976
Id like to make my love for Neil public knowledge as he is a beautiful man
Quote by Absent Mind
Yes nearly everything you need to know about guitar is on the internet

but