I've been playing for just over two years and just playing with my thumb. I want to play with a pick but I have a hard time to hit one string at a time. Usually what happens is the pick continues and hits one or two strings below. And even I have muted them the noise is there and is frustrating. Please don't tell me to practise, It's what I do for the past month, any other advise?
uhh uhh uhh maybe if you hold your pick a different way, making the pick just come out of your thumb so where your thumb goes the pick goes.
You've been playing for 2 years yet you can't play with a pick or pick single strings? It seems like you have a bigger issue than just the inability to play like that.

You said don't say practice, but thats all there is too it. Perhaps try different practicing techniques. When I started to learn how to pick properly I had 3 methods.

1. Use all four fingers and start at the top fret to the fourth fret. Pick the string open, then 1-2-3-4. Then repeat this up and down the strings.
2. Get used to picking a single string with a line of notes on the same string.
3. The best method to use with these would be to attempt to play them without looking at the guitar. Close your eyes, look up, or whatever. This is how I truly learned how to pick properly without the issues your encountering. If you can feel the guitar, than you can play the guitar. You don't need eyes to play.
What i did to fix that was to not come straight down at the other strings, have it come off at an angle, so it misses the strings below it.
wow, I thought this was mastered after the first month of playing 0.0 atleast thats how it was with me...
use heavy picks.
practice scales without looking at the guitar (watch a movie while your at it)
use alternate picking
Practice - there's nothing else to say. You know what it is you want to do, work on it until you can and play slowly.
Actually called Mark!

Quote by TNfootballfan62
People with a duck for their avatar always give good advice.