(Sorry if this is the wrong forum to post in)

Well... The drummer in the band that I'm in keeps breaking cymbals. In the past 6 months, he's cracked 3, and completely trashed 2 china cymbals. I don't think that he's hitting them too hard, maybe just the way he's hitting them. I really need to know if there is anything that can be done to prevent cracks in cymbals, as this is getting very costly for the band. Thanks for any help.
Neon Neon Neon Neon Neon Black

UG's #1 anti-active advocate

Gear:
Engl Powerball
Carvin DC727
Schecter C-1+
Line 6 Flextone 3
Line 6 M9
Bandleading would be more appropriate, but I won't be *that guy*.

Anyway, if he's keeping them in a cold area, then beating the hell out of them, that would most definitely **** them up.
if he's using crap cymbals their gonna crack, tell him get some nice ones.

Epiphone Les Paul Standard
Coming soon: Egnater Tweaker

Alright, being a drummer, I have a lot of experience with these issues. Over time, I've discovered that cymbals with thinner ridges (which produce the majority of the sound of the cymbal, as well as the shape of the bell) tend to be stronger, because there are less weak points in the cymbal where one ridge may have been lathed too deep.

Tell him to check out Zildjian's A Custom series projection crashes, I have two of them which I have been using for over a year and neither of them have failed me so far (and I hit pretty hard mind you).

Now, China cymbals are pretty much hit and miss (especially if they're hand hammered), because again, if the metal is too thin, that produces a weak point in the cymbal, which will eventually break after being hit repeatedly. Although I love the sound of china cymbals, I have stopped using them for the time being until I can find one that will be able to survive my playing. (I have completely annihilated two cheap Wuhans in the past year).
Gear:
Ibanez RG7321 Seven String
Epiphone Iommi Signature SG
Digitech Scott Ian Black 13
VOX Valvetronix AD100VTH