I read the stickie at the top of the thread about the different parts of a guitar (the one with a 10 commandments for guitar) and it said something about active pickups (Emgs I know) but what is it they do? also it said something about them having a 9 volt battery and I was wondering about that, sorry if I should have used the search bar, I'm a noob to any forum outside the pit and inside the pit
They have a higher output than passive pickups, and no hum. They're especially well-suited for heavier, distorted music like metal, and are best used with a high-gain tube amplifier.
GHOST BLOWJOB!
WHOOO! WOOOOOOOOOOOO!
Active pickups usually have more output from your guitar and are more responsive than passive (regular) pickups which is why they use a 9 volt battery.
Active pickup such as EMG's run off a 9 v batteries unlike regular pickups. leaving it plugged into aa patch cord when not in use will wear on the battery.active pickups have a specially tuned preamp. whereas passive pickups run off the power of your amp.
Spc. Alex A Colby 182 Sapper Co. ( Boston to Baghdad )
the batteries last forever pretty much, depending how long you play you'd probably only have to change them 2-3 times a year.
i used to be a mod, then i took an arrow in the knee.
Quote by jeremessmore
I play every day for at least 45 minutes, not a fan of buying a guitar and then having to buy batteries for it so yeah, but on the classic black in the musician's friends link they just look like ordinary humbuckers to me

45 minutes a day you'll have to change the battery like once a year.
i say go for it. buy a rechargeable 9v battery. hit ur local paintballl shop(academy) and buy spyder rechargeable or anything
Gear:
Morpheus Droptune
Ibanez Weeping Demon
Bugera 333xl 212
SCHECTER JEFF LOOMIS C7 FR
Quote by devit
i say go for it. buy a rechargeable 9v battery. hit ur local paintballl shop(academy) and buy spyder rechargeable or anything