So pretty much im a beginner looking to get a decent guitar now an epiphone sg g400 deluxe and a epiphone les paul standard plus are going for sale on ebay which would be the better purchase out of the two, looking to play your typical metal/rock music i.e gunners, metallica, led zep, bfmv etc if that helps.
Played either of them?

Not much in it tbh..

Whichever you like the look and sound of?

Are you competent enough to test guitars out yet?

Or are you literally just starting out? If you are, props for (presumably following advice) getting something decent out right. Will save you in the long term but most don't want to fork out immediately.
Pretty much just starting out so i dont think id be competent enough to test em myself ive picked up both in the shop and they both felt pretty comfortable ... if anything i think im leaning towards the les paul, the sg comes with an ga80 amp where as the les paul is selling by itself in which case id probably pick up a roland cube for it.
I have both

I started on an SG whichh I found easier at the time because it's lighter and easier access to the higher frets

Either way, you'll end up with a REALLY nice guitar
EPILPSTDYamahaRBX100BassTanglewoodTW28/STRFenderchamp600CubaseStudio5Saffirepro40AlesisM1ActiveMKIIMAudioKeystation88RodeNT1AShureSM57KeeleyModTS9MackieMCUwww.myspace.com/cuthbertgriswald
Instead of making another thread just a quick question ive pretty much settled on the epi sg in preference to the lp is there much of a difference between the epi sg g400 and the deluxe version of that model??
The Epiphone Prophecy guitars are great for metal if you're willing to invest in one of those. The Tony Iommi Epiphone G400 is also good. The pickups on those are excellent for metal, since they have very high output.

Of the two you asked, I would get the SG.
Gear List:
'97 Gibson Explorer w/ Duncan SH-4 and SH-2
Fender Jazz Bass 'Crafted in Japan'
Yamaha Acoustic Guitar
Vox AD30VT w/ VFS2
Roland Cube 30 Bass