I've been playing for three years now. I don't have problems with chords and such but overall I consider myself very sloppy. I just can't grab my guitar and start playing something smoothly and nice sounding. You know I got some techniques down but overall I'm afraid that I might be not good enough for a band. My goal is to be the guitarist in a (power) metal band. I daily play the guitar but mostly only random exercises. My amp sucks so hard that I never play amplified. I really want to spend time on practicing but I just don't know what to practice. I have the patience to not get bored. But it's pretty much a waste of time if I aint learning what gets me to my goal. I hope anyone can help. Thanks
Quote by razorback91
Im sorry, I just don't see how you could argue that hardcore isn't metal. That just seems arrogant to me.

Yes, its its own kind of metal, but its still metal.
What amp have you got?

Playing is practicing my friend..Even if what your doing, you may not class as a practice, it certainly is.

Id just enjoy it...Sometimes when i sit down to practice, i'll play so badly, probably because im trying to hard. But then other times i'll pick up the guitar for a few mins passing by, do a few runs all over the fretboard, and it feels awesome

Sometimes you may not feel like you've improved or are imrpoving, which isn't always true, infact you may think you're getting worse, but its far from it.

How good do you want to be btw? Playing with a band will do wonders (rhythem wise, improv, structure).

When i practice, it usually means me working on theory, or reading lessons and learning notes.

Try this.

Learn some new licks, go over a few songs by favourite artists, check out some licks, and try and do them. Once you get a few down, which you probably already have...just put on a backing track (or any music whatsoever) And play along. Solo to it.

Oh yeh, buy yourself a VoX. Fun amp.
Best way to gain that skill is to go JAM with other people.