Page 1 of 2
Hey guys, for the past year now I've wanted to upgrade my amp (I started playing 3 years ago and haven't replaced my small kustom) so I'm hoping I can get a new one for christmas. The play a lot of pop-punk, punk, some metal, and some hardcore. I really want to get in a band and start jamming out so I need some gear upgrades, one of which would be an amp upgrade. I've looked around and I've narrowed my choices down to several amps. The least expensive one I would want would be the a Marshall MG100DFX combo amp, but would this thing be able to crank for gig's? Besides the combo there are 2 stacks that I have looked at the Marshall MG100HDFX/MG412A Purple Half Stack and the Marshall MG100HDFX/MG412 Half Stack. I honestly don't know which amp would be the best at this point. I own a Gibson faded SG by the way, which is what I plan to play with on the new amp. If any of you cold give me some advice as to which one would be a great choice I would really appreciate it !
First off, you don't need an amp that big. A 30 watt tube amp is plenty to keep up with a band
Budget?

DO NOT GET A MARSHALL MG. I'll say that, and I guarantee you most other people who enter this thread will say the same.
Peavey Classic 30
Peavey Classic 50
Orange Tiny Terror and mic it at gigs
Mesa Boogie .50 Caliber
Marshall JCM 2000 60 watt combo or any other 50 watt marshall tube combo
Mitchell Pro-100 (Mesa Boogie MKI Clone, think Weezer Blue Album)
18watt Marshall clone
Fender Hot Rod Deluxe
try out a bugera 6260 212

thats what i want for xmas
i tired it out and i love it
Can't go wrong with a Vox in my opinion. But for your styling I dunno. A Peavey, Bugera, or something sounds like the most efficient.
Fender HRD/Classic 30/50 etc. are not good for metal in the least

A Tiny Terror could be good.

Bugeras and B-52s are about the best bets for mid-budget metal
Quote by H4T3BR33D3R
Way to show everybody up jackass.

Guitar: _______________ Amp: