I have a talent show(its not a contest type, just for show) coming up in a couple of weeks. There aren't any bassists or drummers who are willing to play in the show, so I want to play a solo piece. I originally had an idea of playing a medley of famous riffs(with the backing tracks), but my guitar teacher suggested I play Lenny by SRV. I've been playing for about 2 years and I think I could play it pretty well. Do you think middle school students could appreciate this song?

I have a fender blues deluxe that gives a really nice clean tone, so I don't need to worry about my gear.

I would also add in some improv to spice it up.
1989 Fender MIA Strat Ultra
2006 Fender Standard Strat
1985 MIJ Fender Telecaster
Martin SPD-16R

Fender Blues Deluxe

Fulltone OCD :
EH Memory Man
Xotic RC Booster
Boss RC-20XL(looper)
Last edited by 89stratburst at Nov 29, 2008,
Quote by 89stratburst
I have a talent show(its not a contest type, just for show) coming up in a couple of weeks. There aren't any bassists or drummers who are willing to play in the show, so I want to play a solo piece. I originally had an idea of playing a medley of famous riffs(with the backing tracks), but my guitar teacher suggested I play Lenny by SRV. I've been playing for about 2 years and I think I could play it pretty well. Do you think middle school students could appreciate this song?

I have a fender blues deluxe that gives a really nice clean tone, so I don't need to worry about my gear.
Do you think you could play it so they would? They'll appreciate confidence, trust me. I played "Purple Haze" in my school's talent show and a LOT more people than I thought really enjoyed it. All you have to do is have the song down pat and be confident and it'll go fine.
“Science cannot solve the ultimate mystery of nature. And that is because, in the last analysis, we ourselves are part of nature and therefore part of the mystery that we are trying to solve.”

-Max Planck

☮∞☯♥