Ok so I didnt really know what this should go under so basics seemed appropriate. Also just so you know Ive been playing for about 6 years so Im not a beginner. Well Im working on my speed and I have been for quite a while and I will be shreding up a scale and flub a couple notes and I dont know if its my fret hand or my pick hand. How do I know which it is or is there a way at all?
Quote by andy_thomas
That depends, when you look at a map is west left or right?

If you think I care about what you say to me you are sadly mistaken.
Get a metronome out and practice very slowly at first. Gradually increase your speed until you begin making mistakes, and then analyze your technique at that speed; you should be able to then determine what you're doing incorrectly.
Quote by :-D
Get a metronome out and practice very slowly at first. Gradually increase your speed until you begin making mistakes, and then analyze your technique at that speed; you should be able to then determine what you're doing incorrectly.

I do this all the time for new riffs. Start out slow till you get the hang of it, then speed it up by a little. And then try playing it without a metronome. Trial and error.
Me's Stuff!
Guitars:
Epiphone Les Paul 100
Unknown (Cheap Brand) Fender Stratocaster

Amps:
Esteban G-10
Dean Marley GT-1000T (Less than 5 inchs tall)
Peavey Vypyr 15W
Often its not one of the hands that causes dead notes, but both hands not synchronizing with each other. Are you playing 3-per-string scales (or 2, or 4 per string scales)? These scales are usually easier to get faster because the right hand is playing a constant picking pattern (DUD, UDU etc). The CAGED scales are often where most guys get dead notes because the picking pattern is always changing (DU, UDU, DUD, UD). Sometimes its three notes on a string, and then two and then three - and it screws up the synchronizing of the hands.

At least thats what happens to me.
Quote by Ty Quinn