Thread title:

I've seen a lot of threads recently regarding players asking "what 'level' guitarist am I?" or "could someone suggest [beginner/intermediate/advanced] level songs?". I'd like to take a moment to address those and allow others to discuss.

Essentially, aside from "absolute beginner" and "virtuoso", guitar doesn't have levels. Somthing one person considers easy may be difficult or downright impossible for another person. It's extremely subjective. The only exception is in the case of "absolute beginner" stuff (IE; the intro riff from Smoke on the Water) or "virtuoso" stuff [IE; Arpeggios from Hell by Yngwie Malmsteen]. Asking online is pointless for a myriad of reasons.

First, nobody can see your playing. Sure, you can post a youtube vid, but you've also probably been practicing that one piece to get it just right before you posted it. It's hardly an indication of your overall playing, or how much you actually know and can apply.

Secondly, other people's standards are just that: theirs. No two people play the same way, the same music, in the same style verbatim. We all have different tastes, ideas, and concepts in regards to what's "intermediate" and what's "advanced" and what's "good and bad".

Finally, why exactly are you playing the guitar to begin with? If it's to impress the internet, well, you're going to have to work very hard for a very long time. Unless you can do this you probably won't stand out. If you're playing for yourself, then what other people think about it shoulden't be a factor. Play what you enjoy and take satisfaction from that. Sure, validation feels good, but if you're playing for the right reasons that will come on it's own.