I currently have an Encore Les Paul copy, that I have had for the past two years. I'm buying a Telecaster of some description soon, but that is irrelevant. When I get this however, I am looking to 'do up' my LP.

Now, I'm a total novice on this subject, so be nice with your replies...

What pickups would be best to replace the not-so-good ones that came with this (I think they're humbuckers)?
I'm not looking for a brutal metal sound, so please don't recommend any that give that. I really want a nice clean sound. I don't know any prices of pickups, so I have no budget as of yet.

Thanks.
-

I've never heard of Encore so I'm assuming it's an inexpensive brand of guitar. Assuming that, there are humbuckers from suppliers that won't be too expensive for your guitar. EMG I think sells some passives that are like 30-40 USD each that would be decent quality.
Moving on.....
What amp are you running this guitar through and what kind of clean sound are you looking for?
R.I.P. My Signature. Lost to us in the great Signature Massacre of 2014.

Quote by Master Foo
“A man who mistakes secrets for knowledge is like a man who, seeking light, hugs a candle so closely that he smothers it and burns his hand.”

Album.
Legion.
I'm not bothered about matching the quality of the guitar, KenG, I'm trying to improve it, so decent quality isn't really what I want. I want good quality, but without being too expensive.

7string, please could you go into more detail?

Edit:

I'll be running through a Line 6 Spider III (I know, I know...)

And I don't really care what clean sound, I won't be playing this too often, It's just a project.
-

Last edited by Aléx at Nov 30, 2008,
To get an encore to sound good, you'd have to spend more on pickups than the guitar is worth. Use the money on your new Tele.
Yeah, I don't really mind, it was bought for like £80.

I just wanted to experiment with a guitar that isn't really worth anything.
-

Quote by Gargan