Hey guys, well since christmas is coming up I have been wanting to upgrade from my tiny Kustom KGA10, to hopefully a really nice combo (maybe even a half stack but with my budget I doubt I can find a good quality one). Anyways I want to do my research before I buy an amp, and I was wondering if I could get some advice as to which amp to get. I play mostly punk, pop-punk, and some some classic metal (stuff like maiden, every now and then I might get out of the classic and play some av7x stuff but thats just messing around). I want to start a band (I've been playing for about 3 years now) and hopefully start gigging soon, so I want an amp that can handle gigs. I've listened to my friend play on his marshall stack and that sound is just amazing, it has that nice crunch rhythm to it that I love for palm mute. My budget currently would probably be $600 at max. I tried the MG series out yesterday and I can't see why all of you hate those -.- so that is out of the question. Anything that can get me that nice tube sound with a beautiful distortion for punk is what I am aiming for. So if any of you could recommend an amp I would greatly appreciate it ?
Peavey Classic 30 combo
used Peavey XXX combo
used Mesa F-30 combo
Traynor YCV40 combo
used Laney AOR combo
used Marshall JCM900 combo

Any of these should do you pretty good.
you can do much better than an MG at that price. try a b-52 AT112, it has nice tight thrashy sounds, but as for the punk, i dont know really know what punk tone is. a good modelling amp is a possibility, but i dont really think you need to resort to modeling seeing as you only play two main types of music

EDIT: everyone above has been assuming your willing to go used, but you never said so. so are you willing to get a used amp?
periphery/bulb!

gear:
Ibanez RG7321 w/ D-sonic in bridge

Peavey 5150 mk ii & b52 4x12 cab

line 6 podxt for recording

Quote by AsOneIStand