Hey guys.
Ive been playing for about two years this xmas.
I play metal just mainly learn songs and thats it.
but its now where learning music theory would be nice so i can write my own songs ect...
I would have learned theory in the past but tbh its allways scared the **** out of me seems really complex.. so how did you guys get started and where can i look to find basic theory?
Thanks
Stew
my gear:
jackson dk2m
ibanez grg170dx.
peavey vyper 15
warwick corvette 5 string
ashdown 5 15
Hey,

Glad you want to look into theory, it's really an important basis of good playing!

I'm writing an all-in-one guide to guitar here on UG, it's called "the Ultimate Guide to Guitar"... It covers theory as well as practice, from the basics to the more advanced concepts.

It's a work in progress though, and only the beginning articles have been written, but if you just started looking into theory you may want to check them out. The newest article comes out today, it's on diatonic scales... This may be a VERY valuable article for you if you're new to theory!

So I suggest you read them all from start to finish.. The link is in my sig! It's very obvious

Cheers!
ZeG
Look in my sig. Basically, my lessons move from the idea that

A) a single note can be moved across strings (eg, 5th fret low E is the same sound, or pitch, as the open A string)

B) notes repeat in "octaves"

to learning the notes across the fretboard, at which stage you should be much more ready to take on the crusade articles which are also linked in my sig.
Quote by stew91
Hey guys.
Ive been playing for about two years this xmas.
I play metal just mainly learn songs and thats it.
but its now where learning music theory would be nice so i can write my own songs ect...
I would have learned theory in the past but tbh its allways scared the **** out of me seems really complex.. so how did you guys get started and where can i look to find basic theory?
Thanks
Stew
Earned my respect