hey i got $300 to spend on a practice/bedroom amp.
should i get a valve king 8 or epi valve Jr + the metal muff
or
just buy a peavey vypyr 30 + the sanpera I footswitch
i play mostly metal (early metallica, and some metalcore) and some hard rock(ACDC)

NOTE:
this is my FIRST time buying my own amp and i wanted to know the difference between a tube and a SS amplifier(pros and cons)

EDIT::::
is this good http://www.zzounds.com/item--BLAB5112
Last edited by WTF!!is a TAB at Dec 1, 2008,
a tube amp will give you a warmer tone, and will sound more rock. A Solid state sounds a little more sterile. If i were you, I'd go with the tube. You can always get a metal pedal later on that will help your tone, but I think you will be happier with the valve amp (I know i was)
Quote by 311ZOSOVHJH
I guess you didn't like the responses in your other thread like this?

If at first you don't succeed, make another thread and keep your fingers crossed...

BTW, a used classic 30 or better yet a VK would work fine for the TS, IMO. Again some UGers will say a VK can't do metal, which blows my mind every time I hear it.
I wondered why the frisbee was getting bigger, then it hit me.
Quote by gregs1020

BTW, a used classic 30 or better yet a VK would work fine for the TS, IMO.

is it good for home use
Quote by WTF!!is a TAB
is it good for home use

I don't know if that is a question or a statement. But try a VK 112 and see what you think. I get good tone at bedroom levels every time I play one. I think the VK212 is overkill at 100 watts for home use in principal. I haven't tried one though because 50 watts is more than enough. Again, IMO, try one and develop your own opinion. I suspect you will like the amp for what you play but you may not... Tastes, preferences etc.
I wondered why the frisbee was getting bigger, then it hit me.
WTF! is the Bump rule?

Yes the VK can be played at bedroom levels. I did a clip at volume 3 just for you, I'll post it someday soon.