I've been thinking about getting a new amp for christmas because the one I have now is pretty much sh*t.

My budget is somewhere around $200-300, maybe a tiny bit higher if there's something really great for like 350.

As for tone... Smile by Taproot. That 2nd part of the intro, where the guitar just like explodes. That's what I want, That full, modern hard rock, "punch you in the gut" sound from bands like Chevelle, Breaking Benjamin, etc. I know that Pete from Chevelle uses a Mesa, so something with that kind of distortion if you still dont know what I mean (not exactly quality... I'm new to guitar but I know that theres no way I'll get Mesa quality for that budget, more along the lines of the type of tone.) I don't want anything like Slipknot either, too hollow and scratchy (don't get me wrong I love Slipknot lol). I'd also like a nice clean channel for those great clean intros. I don't have enough experience or money for some stompboxes either, so some effects with adjustable parameters (or however you spell that lol) would be nice. Wow, I just now realized how picky I am lol.

I only started guitar last Christmas so I have all the same equipment I started out with, an Ibanez starter kit (The jampack or whatever... The one with the pickguard, 2 singe coil pickups at the neck and middle and a humbucker at the bridge). The guitar is still good enough for me because I just started but I think I'm getting to the point where I could use a new amp.

I was thinking about this http://www.americanmusical.com/Item--i-VOX-AD50VTXL-LIST?SRC=D0407FG0HAMS0000&utm_source=froogle&utm_medium=feed&
I went to guitar center and tried out the 30 watt version and thought it was pretty sweet, I like the distortion on that. But I thought the same thing about the Spider III when I first tried it out... Now I realize how bad it really is so I'm going to try to test it out again.

There, I gave all the information the rules said to give lol... maybe a little too much?