Hi, I was recently looking into setting up a PA system because my amp speaker blew out and I need something louder over the drums. I have a few questions though.

1. What is the best setup? The one setup I looked at ran all the cables into a mixer then into two powered speakers, is that the best?

2. How can I get a decent tone if going into the mixer? When I plugged my guitar in, it was a clean channel, which I expected, but how would I get distortion, pedals, preamp kinda thing?

3. What is the right wattage, I'm looking at 150w or 300w, I need something for the basement, but that can also be used in small venues, like bars.

Thats all the questions I have now, sorry if some of them are noobish, I'm still learning about this stuff.
to answer #2, some amps can go into a P.A. So you plug into the amp, and the amp plugs into the P.A. or you could plug into a preamp and pedals then into the p.a.
Quote by ibanez87
to answer #2, some amps can go into a P.A. So you plug into the amp, and the amp plugs into the P.A. or you could plug into a preamp and pedals then into the p.a.

So, that won't really blow anything?
You're not gonna want to run your guitar straight into a mixer. You can look at my gear on my page and see what I use. You can Mic your amp with a microphone, then send that into the mixer, or you can buy an amp with a line-out, to run to the mixer. Or you could get an effects processor and run that into the mixer. Once you have the signal to your mixer though, you have 2 choices. Powered monitor speakers, or you could run the mixer into a power amp, and out to unpowered monitors.
Quote by teethdude
So, that won't really blow anything?

it shouldn't. I don't really know too much about. You don't have to turn up the volume on the amp too loud, just the volume knob on the PA.
Quote by ibanez87
it shouldn't. I don't really know too much about. You don't have to turn up the volume on the amp too loud, just the volume knob on the PA.