I started playing exactly 3 months ago. My first purchase was a Squier Strat that came in the starter pack. I don't believe this model sells for more than $99. Last week I upgraded to an Epiphone Les Paul Standard which cost me around $500. The difference in craftsmanship and sound quality is night and day especially because I upgraded to a 60watt amp as well.

Today I was at a local guitar store where I bought my acoustic and spent some one-on-one time with the owner. I told him I bought the Epiphone Les Paul Standard and he put a guitar in my hands and told me to try it while he helped out another customer. It looked similar to mine but was an ESP brand which GC doesn't carry. I guess Sam Ash does but I never went there because GC was closer to me. Anyway, I don't know what exact model he gave me but the price tag was around $700. Right away I could tell a difference. It felt smooth like butter. I could slide, bend, and move around the frets easier than with my new Epiphone.

So, my question is.. what affects playability? Is my guitar's action set high and that one was set low? Were the strings on that guitar thinner and easier to bend than my stock strings? Is the neck made of a different slicker material?

I am asking these questions because 1) I am a begginer and don't know that much and 2) I can return that guitar to GC if I need to

Help is always appreciated!
basically everything, even the strings
pickups can make it sound great or like crap
personally i would go with the ESP brand, most other people on here will to
epiphone is a good brand dont get me wrong but ESP is so much better.
better quality wood, pickups, its put together better, better bridges and tuners and everything
only 3 months and you bought a 500$ guitar? lol dang. i still have my beginner's "First Act" guitar lol.. and have had it for 2 years
If you can return the Epi and can afford the ESP I would, the more you can spend on a guitar the better it will be.