Hi everyone,

Just bought a Ibanez GRG170DX today, and playing it though my Fat Rat 30 amp, but the distortion is pretty crap (I think anyway). How are these amps rated? What amp would you recommend for decent bedroom quality/volume. Something on the cheap if possible!

Cheers,
Steven
Last edited by Steven001 at Dec 3, 2008,
Thanks for the welcome

...Well, I'm just a beginner, but I like Guns N Roses, Iron Maiden, Metallica etc... also stuff like Red Hot Chilli Peppers, just a big variety.

Well, ideally I don't want to spend very much, I have money available, but want to keep the budget low as I'm just starting out. What are your thoughts on my current amp? (The FatRat).
Honestly, I've never heard of it. I couldn't find reviews on it either.

A good bedroom amp with lots of versatility is the vox ad30vt, or it's little brother the vox ad15vt.
Also worth a look is the peavey vypyr 30 or the peavey vypyr 15

I don't know if that's more than you're willing to pay though, or it will make a huge difference, having never played the fat rat.
i googled the amp...it's probably just like the standard jam pack amps that sound pretty terrible really...

i can highly recommend the voxAD30VT with high regards. the tone will be tons better and it comes w/ many FX that are REALLY tweakable. i loved mine. it'll last you a while too. look for a used one and i'm sure you could snag it for $150 or somewhere around there. many people sell the 50 watt one for $200. or just go w/ the 15 watt one for even cheaper, but the bigger the speaker, the fuller the sound and more rounded out it'll be....so i say the 30.
My MAIN Gear
*Dunlop CFH
*fellow LEO feel free to give a shout out
Well, I've never heard of it before but it goes for 89 pounds... therefore, most likely not good.
Current Gear:
LTD MH-400
PRS SE Custom 24 (Suhr SSH+/SSV)
Ibanez RG3120 Prestige (Dimarzio Titans)
Squier Vintage Modified 70s Jazz V
Audient iD22 interface
Peavey Revalver 4, UAD Friedman BE100/DS40
Adam S3A monitors