So I'm in a band which plays classic rock/metal type stuff (think Sabbath, Priest, ect.) and we're going to be recording this holidays..

The problem is, i don't actually own a f***ing bass (I'm actually a guitarist) up until now I've been borrowing off people/school and stuff, but that's going to be an issue during the holidays, and i have hardly any money. I was thinking just a Squier or something worth a few hundred AUS dollars.

Anyone make any recommendations?

Thanks in advance.
Squier is a fine choice for cheap beginner basses.
http://bass-guitars.musiciansfriend.com/product/Squier-Vintage-Modified-70s-Jazz-Bass?sku=519639
That's a recommended bass around here. Not sure how much it is in AUSD.
Quote by Ez0ph
That was a different Feb08er that threatened to suck you off
I remember that

Sadly, I was the threatened.
Quote by Firenze

Let it be known that I concur with everything this gentleman says, ever.

www.myspace.com/tarsusmusic
get a cheap yamaha they're alright, also how much is a few hundred?
Originally Posted by smb
I'm an arrogant bastard - I thought I was good before I'd plucked a note. I was right, of course.

Quote by MetalBass 77
sonsie knows all
a squier or a sx bass its a imitation of fenders but i bought one two years ago and its pretty good wouldn't trade it up
Yeah Squier basses are suprisingly good, my old guitar teacher was a really accomplished jazz player and after hearing mine he felt pretty mugged that he spent 1000+ on his fender american one.
x
Quote by chaffey
Umm, probably $450 max.

Well then, you could get an MIM Fender Jazz for that.
Actually it's 480USD for an MIM.
Quote by Ez0ph
That was a different Feb08er that threatened to suck you off
I remember that

Sadly, I was the threatened.
Quote by Firenze

Let it be known that I concur with everything this gentleman says, ever.

www.myspace.com/tarsusmusic
Last edited by TooFast at Dec 4, 2008,