Hi all-

It's my first post here on UG, but I have been browsing for a while now. I've been playing acoustic for a few months now; I'm taking the slow but steady route, self-teaching myself scales, chords, theory, and what-not. I am in this to be a great guitarist down the road, and I love music, so taking it slow does not bother me. I played saxophone for about 10 years when I was younger, and can remember my music teacher at the time making me play whole notes at 40bpm until I could change notes fluently. That's the route I'm taking for my guitar learning at this point.

But that's just the background to set up the question. For Christmas I am going to be getting some money that I plan to use towards a guitar and an amp. I've always wanted to learn electric (although I enjoy acoustic just as much) and figure now that I have a few months under my belt I can start learning on electric as well as acoustic (seeing as how theory, scales, etc... will all work just the same on an electric haha). So I've never owned an electric or an amp before, but that's where most of my time on this forum has been spent, searching for threads on good starter guitars and amps. I want to get something that will last me for a WHILE, I have a decent disposable income and coupled with my Christmas money I am looking to get a guitar and amp that are high-quality, competitively priced, and will last me until I am truly good enough to warrant the need for higher-end equipment. I live in an apartment, and probably will be for a few more years, so amp-wise I need to be able to keep it somewhat quiet (but I still want good tone, playing saxophone and being in band for a long time I have a decent ear for tone).

So that's where I'm at. Here is what I have narrowed it down to so far guitar and amp-wise:

Guitar ----

Agile 3000/3100