i've been playing guitar for about 3 years now. i'm a metalhead, like it's pretty much all i listen too, but i can't stand playing it. its just gets repetitive really fast and i get bored. i like to play stuff like Andy Mckee, Antoine Dufour, Don Ross, you know, fingerpicking stuff. does anyone else in the pit love listening to metal, but hate playing it?
Haha, funny. I'm mostly a metalhead too and a couple months ago I pretty much stopped playing electric, picked up the acoustic, and started playing fingerstyle stuff like Andy Mckee.

But I'm back with electric now. Still play the acoustic too.

Why don't you just play what you like?
Somewhat similar. I would say 80% of the music I listen to is metal. I play metal, but I play other stuff too.

Metal doesn't have to be boring. You can make it interesting you know.
Quote by C O B H C
If you want to get really technical about it..

1. Grab sticks.
2. Bang sticks on drums.

^how to play drums.

UG POKER
Quote by psss
I listen to it but never play it. its nice to listen sometimes but boring to play, your right. I personally got off the whole metal head way just by hanging around with some guys who blindly think metal is the only genre to listen to. sad in a way lol

yeah this is what im doin right now. its kind of sad that they think that.
I play more than i listen to, But at the same time i play dire-straits, So go figure?
Lol
B.C. Rich Mockingbird ST. (modded)
Gibson les paul studio, Re-finished
Crate Bv120 half stack
Boss BCB-60 Pb
Dunlop, Cry baby Wah-Wah
Boss Ds-1
Boss Dlues driver
Boss Giga delay.

Dark side of the moon < The wall
Metals been the same since the 80s.

Only with, you know, tons of changes.

Make your own badass fusion of metal and other stuff then to bring some excitement to it.
Quote by ChemicalFire
He was too stunned by my fresh truths.

Quote by GodofCheesecake
"And I would've gotten away with it too, if it weren't for you darn kids and your meddling and your breakadowns!"