hey guys,

this is my first time to buy a synth and i need your opinion.

i'm strapped for cash and i'm a HUGE noob when it comes to synth. i play rhythm guitar in my band (rock/hardcore) and i would love to add some synth stuff to our music.

i'm debating whether to get alesis micron or the microkorg. i've looked em up on forums but i think i need the hard answers for myself.

i'm going to gc to buy one of them saturday so i need some opinions ASAP.

and keep in mind that i have ZERO past experience with synths

-thanks
The Micron has a lot of modern sounds. You can edit your own patches down to a T. Honestly, if you know the science behind sounded editing this is a good place to start. You can program sequences and "setups" which is REALLY handy when it comes to playing live. The MicroKorg has a really good vocoder and some excellent analogue type sounds . I'm not fully familiar with it though. I was in the same position as you at one point. I went around trying the two instruments in local shops but the micron became a clear winner.
Ummmmm the old keyboardist for my band played a microkorg and they are a lot of fun to mess around with.

They are able to achieve a lot of different sounds but I am kind of in the same boat as you so as for the sound quality I can't really tell you how good it is.

I would recommend that just based off of experience.

Have you played either of them yet?
Quote by Dr. Oysterhead
The Micron has a lot of modern sounds. You can edit your own patches down to a T. Honestly, if you know the science behind sounded editing this is a good place to start. You can program sequences and "setups" which is REALLY handy when it comes to playing live. The MicroKorg has a really good vocoder and some excellent analogue type sounds . I'm not fully familiar with it though. I was in the same position as you at one point. I went around trying the two instruments in local shops but the micron became a clear winner.