Hello all.

I've been lurking around on UG for a while now and it is now time to post...

I will be getting my first guitar sometime around Christmas, and I have about $300-450 (maybe 500 if justified) to spend. I've been looking around mostly on MusiciansFriend.com and then reading reviews on Harmony-Central.com. I also have a friend that I've been going to a couple local shops with, who has been teaching me some things and has helped me along in the process.

Since this is not set in stone yet, I'd like to broaden my horizons and open it up to you guys. Like I said, it has to be in the $300-450 range or $499.99 if you can justify that over a "lesser" model.

Criteria:

-Since I am a beginner, I'd like something simple. Simple is my style anyway, and really want a string-thru-body style.

-Don't like tremolos.

-The headstock needs to be fairly aggressive-looking, I HATE the way a Strat headstock looks. See: Ibanez, ESP LTD, Schecter.

-Body style doesn't need to be aggressive, but I do like the F-series look from ESP. Not particularly fond of V and X shapes, but will consider them.

-Colors can be solid red, black, grey, etc. I really like the Flamed Maple Top look so far, and any mix of darker colors.

Genre:
Hardcore/Grind/Metal/Mainstream/Progressive/Nu-Metal.
Bands I like (tone): Killswitch Engage, BfmV, Mudvayne, All that Remains, Mushroomhead, Droid.

I already have a few in mind, perhaps you can direct me to the right choice since I'm having a hard time deciding for myself at the moment. I really would just like some input, whether you suggest one I've picked or a totally new one that maybe I haven't seen.

Favorites so far:

ESP LTD F-100fm
ESP LTD H-251
Ibanez RG3EXFM1 (Grey Burst)
Schecter Damien 6 (I also like the Damien Special)
Schecter 006 Deluxe

Thanks so much for any input you guys can provide! Really look forward to some of your answers and suggestions.
Sounds like you've already decided.
Quote by Jack Off Jill