Hey guys/ girls,

Im currently in a viking metal band, hence that is genre im most likely to play on my rig, however i'd like enough room in the amp/ cab/ pedals? to be able to expand to tones used in ska/ punk/ classic rock and some RnB type basslines.

Im currently looking at this head;

http://www.ashdownmusic.com/bass/detail.asp?section=labs&ID=212

I see it is a 1000W powered amp, it does say two 500W channels, im guessing this means i'd be able to just use half the power with one cab for now and if i want i could expand it later on too 1000W?

I have no experience when it comes to bass amps to be honest, as at the moment im using a korg modelling box as my amp. But i see that the bass EQ starts at 100Hz, is that kind of high for the low's? ive seen amps that start at 30Hz-

Im still looking for cabs and pedals, so i wont post any yet.

But i'd like some advice on this amp, currently it's £318, personally for what it look's like im getting i dont think that is too bad, but then again i could be way off the mark.

thanks.
Black Knight CF-60F Semi-Acoustic.

Black Knight CP200 (Red flamed maple).

Neck-thru 4 string bass.

Acoustic 6 string.
No. What it means is one channel could send 500w into 4 ohms and the other channel would send 500w into 4 ohms. Using two 8 ohm cabs into both channels would give 500w.

I wouldn't get that head though. I'd buy a Hartke LH1000 which uses the same channel system. Plus the Little Giant has been delayed yet again and is now being released in January - probably due to all those breakages Ashdown have had to fix.
You can't comment on gear until you have tried it!
Ahh i see *scratches head*

Hmm ill have a look for the hartke LH1000, basically im only going to buy what ever gear i can get in local shop's, in the past ive just bought gear offline and although they havent always been bad, they havent always been perfect.

Neck-thru 4 string bass.

Acoustic 6 string.
Quote by Stan_da_man