Hi, I'm new to this site and I need some advice. I've been looking at a fender strat on www.ebay.com for $159 but don’t know if this will be good for me because I am new to the electric guitar world. It has the sound that I want but don’t know if it will last long. If you have any suggestions on a guitar that’s in my budget ($400 with amp and other accessories) that would be awesome! Thank you!
I got one. These things are built good, except for the trem arm. That broke off on mine. Everything else on it is built great.
Well, the First Act brand cost about 300$ for amp and guitar. The guitar has good sound, but It don't last to long. Mine lasted about two years. And the amp ain't very good on distortion. I'd buy a Yamaha or Fender. They are a lot cheaper then most Gibson guitars. And for the amp...try a Fender Frontman.
No guys, a Starcaster is a bad idea. Yamaha Pacifica is much better. And will last longer. As for an amp, it depends on what you play. Google "5 watt tube amps" and search some of those.
Gear

93 Jackson Dinky Professional Reverse
98 Jackson Kelly KE3

Peavey Bandit 112
Custom 2x10 cab w/Bugeras
No. With them you're just paying for the name fender.
If you want a cheap starter guitar get a Squier Strat.
I'm not a Bible-thumper anymore. Realized I had a brain in '09.

I like guitars, running, and math.
Thanks for the help but I don’t want anything cheep in quality I'm looking for something that will last maybe a Fender Mexican made Strat I hear there pretty good for beginners. I'm looking for a Eric Clapton type sound maybe like his song Let it rain or I'm going left. Something along that line. Any help would be great. Thanks!
Quote by chip46
I would stay away from the Strat lookalike Starcasters. If you want a cheap Strat then look at a Squier or a MIM Strat. If you want a nice amp to round out the rest of your budget then checkout the Crate V series amps, they're tube and really cheap right now.