My main (and probably only) interest is in the metal genre. The theory complexity (all those chord constructions and such) of Jazz, however, interests me. I'm not at all interested in playing the Jazz genre itself, but I'm wondering if there's a workaround method to learning all those chord constructions without having to go through a Jazz-focused course. Improvisation is always key to music, but in Jazz it takes up a larger portion than I would like; I'd like to focus more on the compositional/theory side than on improv. I'm a beginner, so bear with any misnomers I committed here.
Last edited by G.9 at Dec 7, 2008,
Haha, indeed I would agree to that statement. I'm often looked upon as strange by acquaintances because of my very genre-concentrated music collection; but really... metal is just about all I listen to. I've recently looked into Jazz and Classical stuff. Both offer extremely relaxing (or stimulating) listens, but just aren't exciting enough for me. I can imagine composing and playing classical songs, and enjoying the process, but jazz just doesn't seem to offer that for me.
The only way to get jazz is to live jazz.
Squier VM Fretless Jazz
Warwick Rockbass Streamer 5
Ashdown MAG 300 210
you really should just take a jazz class or course or whatever. Even an independent study would get you on your way. You think there is alot of improvisation in jazz, which there is, but it is intelligent improvisation. Most well trained jazz musicians know the chord progression inside and out and know which notes they have available for a 'good' line.
Mesa Lonestar Special
Traynor YCV40WR
Ibanez -Artcore AS103BM
Fender American Deluxe Strat
Analog Man ARDX20 Dual Delay
Red Witch Empress Chorus
Big Muff Pi
Boss BD-2
MXR '76 RI Dynacomp
Fulltone Clyde Deluxe Wah
Jetter Jetdrive
EHX POG