Hi, I'm Richard. I'm new to UG, so I'll say some stuff about me.
I've been playing guitar for several years, started about 5 years ago, but I never got that serious. Added up, I'll say about a year of good practice. My gear consists ofa Harley Benton, and recently I aquired a vox tonelab. Untill then, it was all MT-2 through line in, and Guitar Rig to get a head/cab sound. No guitar amp, just a 10W computer hifi thing.

It sounded like crap. I know, tone is meaningless when you can't play, but heck, it actually hurt to hear it. After some tone seeking nights, I decided to drop it, and the rest of my practice sessions were mostly unplugged exercises. I've done them a lot - instead of learning a new track or trying to compose, I gave all the time to technique. In two months, I nailed everything in the warmup section of petrucci's rock discipline. But no gain, all pain (is that what they say? :P) - the unplugged sound was boring and unattractive to me. So I quit. This was happening in march 2008.

Recently, I got a call from guitarist friend. He told me that if I thought my tone was the problem, I should get something to enhance it. I haven't studied the market that much, but I loved the tonelab LE at first try. I can't get all the tones I want out of it, but it's great till now.

However, I don't know what to do next.

My objectives, on the guitar side, are playing in a band in a year or so.
On the musicmanship level, I want to be able to compose something bearable - my biggest success so far beeing a few connected riffs, over the minor and byzantine scale.

I'm thinking of finding a mentor. At the time the guitar fire was really there, I went through several teachers. At that point I was 17 (19 now). None actually had the patience with me after several lessons. One guy even told me - after several ok lessons - that I should play acoustic - cause he doesn't like electric that much.