im teaching someone whos never picked up a guitar in the near future

not sure about what i can do though having been self taught myself
heres the plan so far:
  • Smoke on the water (obvz)
  • Notes on a guitar neck
  • basic chords like a, b, c etc.
  • power chords
  • couple of scales

is there any easy chord songs i can teach them?
remember first lesson for them and me!
Worst. Teacher. Ever.
VENUSIAN
FB SC BC TW
Patterns In The Ivy present ethnicity on an intriguing and dedicated level. ~Ambient Exotica
A mesmeric melange of yearning voice, delicate piano and carefully chosen samples. ~Lost Voices
any nirvana song

wait, is he like asian? you could learn him to shred in like one hour
I fell asleep on my arm once, scariest thing that ever happened to me. I thought it was kill.
1) Go to the phone book.
2) Find a pro teachers number.
3) Give them the number.
4) Tell him to arrange real lessons.
5) Everybody wins, nobody profits.
  • Smoke on the water (obvz) - this shouldn't be the first thing
  • Notes on a guitar neck - this should be the first thing
  • basic chords like a, b, c etc. - ok but B is not a basic chord... bar chords requires weeks of practice... you should start with Em, E, Am, C
  • power chords - after bar chords
  • couple of scales - not now, let your students learn all the other stuffs first
Last edited by Poglia at Dec 7, 2008,
from your avatar/title, I suggest that you cancel.
"We were one among the fence"
Quote by diofan88
You have no idea how many mornings my dad has woken up to me in my underroos rocking out in the morning...on a mission...A MISSION TO ROOOOCCCCKKKKK!!!!!
wow being put down here, thanks for the useful advice those that gave it!

and hes not asian or a he!

its a free lesson as well, they're just a friend!
To summarize from my articles:
1. First, teach him the parts of the guitar and what they're for, then how to hold it and how to hold a pick, then how to tune it