Hi there!

I've been playing a cheap acoustic guitar (50$) for about 3 months now because i wanted to start learning to play guitar, and ever since i got it i've been playing almost every day and i don't see myself quitting. THEREFOR i'm considering getting a decent electric guitar (300-500$ish including amp) since I'd might aswell get some earcandy while practicing.

My newbie skills and taste: I can play Nirvana - Come as you are, Wake me up when september ends, the barred chords are still a pain for my hand though so the sound comes out wrong sometimes and Wherever you will go. I can play most chords except some barred chords. I like Hard Rock and Metal, hence the interest for an Electric guitar.

SO HERES THE QUESTION: Is getting a decent electric guitar after only 3 months of practice the most idiotic thing ever? - if not, please give me some advices about which guitar and amplifier to pick (from what I've read Modeling Amplifiers seems like a good thing).

Thank you!
Yes, it's a perfectly good idea. Three months is plenty. Get an Agile guitar and a cheap tube amp or if you can't stretch that far, a Peavey Vypyr and NOT a Marshall MG or Line 6 Spider.

That's what the bandwagonistas here will say. And to be honest, they're right.
a pretty basic, and good idea, is to get a mexican made fender dont bother with squier, but a strat or tele, depending on what you like more.

yeah, and get a cheap tube amp (craigslist?). it will save you a lot of frustration later on
Peace , Love , Death Metal

Quote by Super_Duper_Guy
It probably started at $55 but then he thought "You know what? F&*$ them. 1 dollar extra. pwned noobs."
That bastard...
Quote by HelpMeImHungry
a pretty basic, and good idea, is to get a mexican made fender dont bother with squier, but a strat or tele, depending on what you like more.

yeah, and get a cheap tube amp (craigslist?). it will save you a lot of frustration later on

yeah dont listen to this guy.