Dear fellow sexy Ug'ers!

I'm fairly new at amp slaving and have a few concerns with my amp and slaving it to another. I have an '82 JCM 800 and love power amp tone out of it (pre amp is decent as well, but who doesnt love marshall power amp tone). Anyways, I've always loved Metallica's bottom end drive in their amps, but didn't want quite such a "metal" tone. I'm looking somewhere along the lines of hard rock (Aerosmith/Buckcherry,etc) but with a driving bottom end. Anyways, this all leads to my question:

My marshall doesn't have a "line out". Therefore I don't think I can do proper slaving (correct me if i'm wrong, however I think the mesa might have a line out so I can put that before the marshall in the chain). I was thinking about getting a Mesa Mark IV used to get the bottom end, or similar, and use either the power or pre amp, depending on which I like more. And then add the marshall's power amp on top of that.

Will this give me that bottom end but still keep some marshall tonal properties? Or would an a/b/a+b box be a better suggestion to blend these amps together? As well, is slaving damaging to either amps? And is there a certain order these amps need to be in (pre-amp amp before the power-amp amp, etc)?

Any tips or suggestions about my rig from you amazing people would be awesome! Thanks for your time.
dude...slaving means you take the preamp of one amp and cnnect it to the poweramp of another and THAT goes to the speaker...so if you slaved the mesa. you d be taking the slave out or fx loop send jack and connect it to fx loop return on a marshall combo/head.

in general, slaving amp x means that you take the preamp x to the poweramp of another amp.

metallica slaved mesa mark IIc+ combos to marshall heads, so the mesa preamps to the marshall poweramps.