I've been playing for a few months with an acoustic, but i've played my cousin's electric guitars, and it is amazing to play them. Right now i'm leaning toward a Fender Stratocaster Standard, but i'm no guitar expert. Opinions?
Plus, I have no clue at all about amps. I'm a beginner, but I don't want a crap amp.
Something i'll still like in the next few years. Help?
get a crappy guitar. spend the extra money on a good amp. ul like the sound better cause most of ur tone comes from the amp, and if u learn to play well on a crappy guitar, imagine how well ul be able to play on a guitar with some real playability to it. ul build up finger strength and dexterity more playing a guitar with higher action
Gear

Guitar:
Squier Strat

Amp:
Fender Roc Pro 1000 Half Stack

Pedals:
Digitech Bad Monkey
Dunlop Original Crybaby Wah
Digitech Cool Cat Chorus
id say get a squire strat or even a mexican strat then something cool like a little epiphone valve junior or something
Fender American Standard Stratocaster
Ibanez TS-9
EHX Big Muff Pi
Companion Fuzz Box
EHX Pulsar
Boss DD-6
Fender Hot Rod Deville 212
Quote by wicket_nirvana
get a crappy guitar. spend the extra money on a good amp. ul like the sound better cause most of ur tone comes from the amp, and if u learn to play well on a crappy guitar, imagine how well ul be able to play on a guitar with some real playability to it. ul build up finger strength and dexterity more playing a guitar with higher action

this guy speaks all sorts of truth. i owned a crappy ass slammer: hamer electric for like 5 years. when i finally bought i new guitar i was like woah this new guitar feels so much easier to play etc etc..
fender strats would be good for anything except for metal, and for an amp, id say either a peavey valveking. its durable, versatile and sounds great.

here are links for things i suggest (assuming that they fit in your budget)

guitars---v (getting more and more "metal"