Well, my friends are practicing in a different way than I do.
They practice by learning songs, so each and everyone of them knows the same songs.
Although I practice by studying theory, composing, and trying to perfect my guitar techniques to a metronome (bends, slides, hammer ons, pull offs, harmonics, etc.)

So which is a better way?
I mean, I learn songs once in a while but that's because I want to.
And I don't necessarily see their 'practice' as efficient practice.
The only reasons I'm asking this is because

1) They play at school and seem to show off (I really hate this)
2) I'm considered as a 'poser' just because I rarely bring my guitar and I don't know that much of songs
3) I always disagree with them when they tell me to practice songs and not technical stuff.

So is their way better? I'm a serious musician even though I'm just 15 so I would really like to know if there are more efficient was of practicing to maximize the results.
I also keep a notebook full of my notes on theory and my compositions, but when they look at it they say I'm just doing nonsense.

Help me UG
Learning other peoples songs makes not a good musician. So they can learn other people songs? I'd prefer to be able to play what I want to play given the choice. You will be able to write and understand what your playing, your also more likely to have correct technique.

There's no correct way to learn, but I learnt the way you did. I don't know many songs, but I can learn them much faster than the people I play with because I can grasp the patterns and intervals better.
incorporate both into ur practice schedule...
both are important...
and i dun understand why the hell ur friends think u r a poser when u don't even bring out ur guitar? lol.. weird.
Quote by suppashredda

and i dun understand why the hell ur friends think u r a poser when u don't even bring out ur guitar? lol.. weird.

lol i dun undserstand why u dun speak inglish lol.