Poll: Which guitar would you buy (if you were me...)?
Poll Options
View poll results: Which guitar would you buy (if you were me...)?
Jim Root signature Telecaster
18 43%
PRS SE Soapbar
10 24%
Gibson Les Paul
11 26%
ESP Truckster
1 2%
Gretsch G6128 Duo-Jet
2 5%
Voters: 42.
Well, I need a new guitar due to the limitations of my Floyd Rose Tremolo, and I'm canvassing opinions. My current setup is a ltd edition Epiphone Explorer, which I've had set up to play metal, which is pretty much all it's good at. I'm a rhythm guitarist BTW, so extreme soloing isn't a requirement.

I need a fixed bridge guitar so I can mess about with the tunings, and one that's versatile in tone - my existing guitar is pure metal, so I need more of an all-rounder for drop-D tuning, ballads and other music styles. I don't know whether to save up for an expensive classic that won't lose it's value, or get a mid-price guitar that has the right sound.

The current favourites are:

The Jim Root signature Telecaster (designed for downtuning, with a good mix of pickups - the winner of the Total guitar 2008 reader's poll).
http://www.fender.co.uk/products//search.php?partno=0134444706

The PRS SE Soapbar (the cheapest option, with probably the best pickups – a pair of P90s - despite costing less than £300 online it got a 5 star review in this month's Total guitar mag)
http://www.prsguitars.com/sesoapbar/index.html

A classic Gibson Les Paul (although an SG might work too - budget restricts me to a Studio model at best, which still weighs in around £900).
http://www.guitarvillage.co.uk/product-d...ew%2C+Inc.+Case

Or the ESP Truckster (would have to be the 'cheap' LTD one, at £999, rather than the top of the range one at £1299):
http://www.espguitars.com/guitars_james.html

Or I could save up for most of next year and buy this (forgetting the tuning options, because of it's complex trem, and going for just a cool, sweet-sounding guitar instead - this is my wildcard!)